Recipes

Low Carb Pancakes

I am yet to write a blog post about my beautiful little parasite but since having it I’ve done a lot of research and have constantly read that in order to get rid of it, you need to limit carbs and limit sugar as they thrive off of those two things!

So, in order to ensure I wasn’t being deprived of delicious food, I went on a hunt to find some recipes that were low in carbs and low in sugars. Recently it’s been so cold here in Australia and since I have finished my exams for the Uni semester, I decided to treat myself with these light and fluffy pancakes. The vital ingredients? Coconut flour and egg whites! When beaten to a stiff peak, the egg whites provide so much volume and fluffiness to the mixture and when cooked you can see the little bubbles throughout indicating the lightness to the batter.

These pancakes can be topped with anything you would like! I chose some chocolate pb2, 1/4 of an apple and some banana slices with a new paleo pumpkin pie granola. As it was my first time making these and because I was so elated about finishing exams, I went a bit crazy with toppings which obviously added quite a bit of carb and sugar that the pancakes don’t particularly need. However, I wanted a treat and so I gave myself the full treat haha next time I’ll most likely just stick with the pb2 and a homemade granola.

image4Ingredients:

3 tbsp coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp sweetener of choice (I used a stevia sachet)

pinch of sea salt

3 egg whites

1/4 banana mashed

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk ( I used water as I didn’t have almond milk)

Optional: cinnamon, vanilla bean paste, cacao etc.

image3

Method:

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl

Whisk egg whites to a stiff peak

Fold egg whites into the wet ingredients

Add the wet ingredients into the dry. Combine gently.

Place about a 1/4 cup of the mixture into a hot pan (I greased mine with some coconut oil).

Let each fry for about 3 minutes, until the edges go crispy. Flip and let cook for a further 1-2 minutes.

 

Leave a comment