Recipes

Split Pea Soup

A couple of weeks ago I realised that I had my Nonna’s Split Pea Soup in the freezer and for once in my life, I didn’t feel like cooking! It was delicious and so insanely hearty as the soup is so thick and you can feel that its actually a meal when you eat it.

Ever since that day I’ve been craving it again! So today, I made my own. It wasn’t my Nonna’s but it super tasty and just as filling! I spent the morning looking at recipes and seeing which I could try out but I definitely know my Nonna doesn’t use, cumin, basil, marjoram or any herb really in her split pea soup and so I wanted to keep it simple and authentic, as if I were serving it to my Nonna.

IMG_7655

Ingredients:

1/2 tbsp coconut oil

1 1/2 cup split peas

5 1/2 cups of vegetable stock (you may need to add more water as it thickens)

1 brown onion

2 crushed cloves of garlic

2 carrots, sliced

3 stalks of celery, slices

Salt and pepper

Optional add ins that I used: dash of cumin and turmeric

Method:

Rinse the peas and strain

Melt coconut oil in a saucepan. Fry onion and garlic for a couple of minutes and then fry the carrot and celery for another few minutes.

Add in the split peas and the stock. I used 5.5 litres of water with 2 and half vegetable stock cubes.

Bring the soup to a boil and reduce to a simmer for 40 minutes to an hour until soft and thick. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Either serve on its own or get creative! I added some baby spinach and steamed cauliflower with a sprinkling of turmeric

IMG_7651

 

.

2 thoughts on “Split Pea Soup

Leave a Reply

