Reviews

Product Review: The Protein Bread

image1The Protein Bread!

I have been wanting to try this bread for about a year but every health food store and wholefood store I would go to, didn’t sell it! Until one day when I went to About Life in Rozelle. To be honest, this stayed in my freezer for about a week before I tried it because I NEVER have bread and so I didn’t really know what to do with it since all of my meals are the complete opposite of having toast or a sandwich. But I have finally tried it and was so happy with the result! Anna, the creator of the Protein Bread was spot on in her recipe using water, egg white, lupin flour, whey protein, golden flax meal, pea protein, almond meal, baking powder (gluten free), linseeds, chia seeds, cinnamon, iodised salt, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds and pepitas to create a bread that I felt good about eating! The problem that I have with regular bread is that I have a gluten sensitivity (not intolerance) and so I have to be very careful about which bread I choose to eat but I have never really enjoyed the texture of gluten free bread and they usually aren’t the healthiest for you either. I’ve tried making my own gluten free loafs such as the Life Changing Loaf by My New Roots which I loved, but the slices are so small as it doesn’t rise and so it’s hard to feel satisfied. Though the bread is insanely dense with nuts and seeds, you do have to be careful with how much you eat which I am not ok with.

image4As you can see, the bread has little air pockets and looks light, just as normal bread does. When you look at a slice of gluten free bread, it kind of looks like a slab of cardboard. The lightness in this bread is most likely due to the egg whites because when they are whisked, they create a great fluffiness and airiness in any recipe. The other ingredients fill this bread up with loads of protein, containing 16.2 grams in two slices (the average serve is 76g =2 pieces); the fats are minimal, having 3.3 grams and the carbs are basically non-existent as it only has 1.5 grams!!

image6image7When toasted, this bread completely holds it’s shape and get’s lovely and golden brown. The edges become lovely and crispy, giving that satisfying crunchy crust you want out of a piece of toast. And the smell.. it smells like toast! That alone is enough to make me happy! The pieces are decently sized, at first I thought they were kind of small but after having one as a snack a couple of days ago, pictured below with some chocolate pb2 and cinnamon (favourite combination) and having two slices for lunch yesterday with some avocado, tomato, spinach and falafel, I couldn’t imagine having them any bigger. The inside is rather moist but I would much prefer that than then the dryness and denseness of gluten free bread. When I ate it, I didn’t feel sluggish or as if I needed to take a nap. I felt energised, light and I had no stomach pains at all which is really rare with all of the stomach issues I have.

I am so happy I’ve found something that I feel great about eating. For over a year I hadn’t had a slice of bread or any sort of carb because I was basically afraid of them. I’ve certainly had bread since that stage but my body doesn’t react well to wheat and gluten so for me to find a replacement that is just as tasty and satisfying is amazing! Things like this bread make recovery so much easier as I don’t feel as though I’m depriving myself and not allowing myself to have the simple pleasures in life, like a crunchy piece of toast. I am a happy chappy.

Love Jess xx

Leave a Reply

