Recipes · Uncategorized

Roasted Almond and Cashew Butter

One day I bought a big bag of cashew nuts hoping to making a raw cheesecake but as I went into the cupboard today to see if much of the bag was left… it was basically half empty (or half full if you’re an optimist :P). So, no more raw cheesecake and yes to nut butter as I had almost the same amount of almonds as well!

IMG_9063

I’m fairly sure I have a nut butter addiction which I can’t believe how well I have tamed! Peanut butter used to be my absolute love! But unfortunately I think I over did it a few times and as a result, I knew I needed to stop buying it so I could somehow control myself. And it worked! I tried the PB2 thing which is great but the texture just isn’t quite the same as a quality, wholesome nut butter. So, I began to try other nut butters and both Cashew and Almond butters have been my go to nut butters since then. Their flavours are much less overpowering and that is great for me being a person who loves to put nut butters in their smoothies to give it some extra creaminess and a good source of fat. If you put peanut butter in anything, it just tastes like peanut butter! I am also a lot more mindful of how much I am eating of these now as the flavours are a lot more rich which means a little goes a long way.

IMG_9034

Now this recipe is super simple and it can be created in any way that suits your taste buds! You can use more or less of each type of nut, depending on which you prefer. You can add cinnamon to give it a warm spice. You can add some coconut sugar or coconut nectar if you want it a bit sweeter. You can add some cacao powder during the blending process or even add some cacao nibs once the nut butter has been fully blended. The options are endless, so get creative!

Recipe

Roasted Cashew and Almond ButterΒ 

HOW EVERY MANY CASHEWS AND ALMONDS YOU HAVE! I didn’t measure them at all but you can probably see by the picture that it was basically 50/50 of each nut (plus a few random pecans because they were in the ziplock bag of almonds that I had) but there was possibly a little more cashews than almonds. You legitimately cannot go wrong with this recipe! But maybe try out 1 cup of cashews and 3/4 of a cup of almonds.

A pinch of salt (can omit)

A teaspoon of melted coconut oil

Method

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius for about 20-30 minutes.

Place your nuts on a baking tray and sprinkle with a pinch of salt.

Roast in the oven for about 10-12 minutes. I checked mine at 10 minutes, gave them a little toss around and placed them back in for another 2. They should look slightly golden brown and have a lovely roasted smell.

IMG_9036

Once roasted, let your nuts cool.

Place your nuts ( plus another pinch of salt if you wish) and blend in your high speed blender or food processor, which I used.

Let your nuts blend for approximately 15 minutes in total, stopping every couple of minutes to scrape down the size. Initially it will turn into a crumb, at this point add in your coconut oil. Then slowly it will become a chunky paste consistency and form a ball and after some more blending, it will finally turn into a creamy and smooth paste.

IMG_9041
IMG_9043

Place your nut butter in a jar!

LOOK AT HOW CREAMY AND GLOSSY IT IS

IMG_9072

I served mine on top of a Banana and Strawberry Smoothie Bowl but you can put this on or in anything you desire.

IMG_9073

Happy nut butter making!

Jess xx

 

Leave a Reply

