Recipes

Carrot Cake Smoothie Bowl

I love smoothie bowls. A lot. And by a lot I mean, I want to have one for every single meal but I can’t because too many bananas don’t agree with my stomach. As a result I can only ever use 1- 1.5 bananas in my smoothie to keep my tummy pains at bay but I need to fill it up with other goodies to actually make it a decent size smoothie that will keep me satisfied.

This is where the carrot enters. I will usually use other fruit to add bulk to my smoothies but sometimes I just don’t want to eat that many natural sugars in the morning as it tends to spike my blood sugar and leave me with a bit of a racey heartbeat. Vegetables are a great way to add bulk to anything, some won’t give your smoothie’s any additional flavour like zucchini and cauliflower but I wanted to hero the carrot and so I made a Carrot Cake flavoured smoothie with heaps of other great ingredients to make it super filling and tasty!

image1

Carrot Cake Smoothie Bowl

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana

1 chopped carrot

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp crushed walnuts

1 tbsp coconut flakes

1/2 cup almond milk

handful of spinach

1 tsp of cinnamon + additional sprinkling of nutmeg

1-2 drops of vanilla stevia or use vanilla bean paste

image2Method:

As always, blend it all up ensuring the easier ingredients to blend are closest to the blade!

Top with your desired toppings, I used 1/4 of a banana, blueberries, chia seeds, coconut flakes and my caramelised buckinis.

Enjoy! Jess xx

Leave a Reply

