Recipes

Rainbow Rolls and a Spicy Tahini Dipping Sauce

One thing I used to eat so much of and would love every single time I would have it, is sushi. Rice paper rolls in particular were always my favourite because they’re so fresh and light and I would love that you can see everything inside of the rice paper. However, for a few months, or since I started trialling out veganism/vegetarianism, I hadn’t touched them because I would always make them with either tuna, salmon or chicken. I didn’t even think about the possibility of making a vegetable rice paper roll because I guess I had fallen in love with making huge salad bowls and to be honest, I struggled eating mindfully when I would eat with my hands and ensured I would only make meals where I had to use cutlery. I’ve been struggling a bit with lunch times and feeling confused as to what I would want to eat. Nothing has been appealing to me and I keep trying to make meals that are so complicated, with heaps of different components and seasonings and it just wouldn’t taste nice at all. So this is why I’ve gone back to basics to reset my palate to remember what it used to love. These are so quick and easy to make and you can make big batches of them and keep them in the fridge.

The sauce is so easy to make as well! I was inspired to make it after seeing people post photos and recipes of a spicy peanut sauce but I don’t have the best relationship with peanut butter and I only had chocolate pb2 in my cupboard so I thought I’d try out using tahini and oooooh man it was delicious! The sriracha and soy sauce give it a spicy, asian flavour which pairs perfectly with the rolls and I found myself licking the bowl that I had the sauce in after because it was that good. The sauce can easily be multiplied to make a bigger batch, the recipe down below is just what I did for that day for just one person.

image1

Rainbow rollsΒ 

Ingredients

Rolls:

4 rice paper rolls OR nori sheets

1/2 of a carrot

1/2 of a cucumber

1/4 of a red cabbage

1/2 of a capsicum

1/2 of an avocado

1 small tomato

Coriander and mint (either or can be omitted but I liked the freshness of both)

If using nori sheets, add about 1-2 tbsp of cooked quinoa on each sheet.

Shreds of iceberg lettuce (however much you want)

Dipping sauce

1tsp tahini

1/2 lemon, juiced

1/4-1/2 tsp of sriracha

1/4 tsp of soy sauce

Additional water for thinning out if needed

Method

Boil a large quantity (enough to fill a big mixing bowl) of water. I used a kettle. When the water is done, fill the bowl about half way- 3/4 of the way with boiling water and the rest with cold so it doesn’t burn your hands when soaking the rice paper.

Chop up all of your vegetables in thin strips

Thinly slice the cabbage and shred the lettuce into large chunks

Slice your avocado into long strips and place them on a plate for easy access

Prepare you herbs.

When making your rice paper rolls, place a sheet into the bowl of water for about 15-20 seconds, depending on how hot your water is. Take the sheet out and lay it on a plate.

Β Fill the rice paper roll, leaving about a centimetre gap before placing your ingredients on.

Lay the lettuce first, all of the other ingredients next and lastly put the herbs on.

Roll the rice paper over once, fold in the sides and continue rolling.

If your making nori rolls, either use a bamboo sushi roller if you have one or just use your hands if you’re not too pedantic about how tight it will be. Place about 1-2 tablespoons of quinoa on the nori sheet, place your ingredients on top and roll the sheet. Place some water on either edge of the sheet to make it stick together.

For the sauce, combine all ingredients together and add more water to the liking of your consistency.

image2

 

One thought on “Rainbow Rolls and a Spicy Tahini Dipping Sauce

Leave a Reply

