Recipes

Choc Banana Berry Smoothie

Are you one of those people who love chocolate but sometimes even a slice of it can send you into a frenzy and you just want more? Even when you use cacao powder, you feel your blood sugar levels spike and it makes you want to eat more or you’re just left feeling on a high that isn’t the good kind? Well, that happens to me. I’m fairly sure I’m sensitive to chocolate and cacao because whenever I eat it or use it in my smoothies/cooking, I get an overwhelming sense of energy and I honestly feel my heart beating faster and my body becoming tingly. Though it sounds like I could go for a run or power out some intense workout, it’s more so the kind that makes me feel like I need to eat a load of bread to soak up all the chocolate haha.

So, to make this smoothie chocolatey, I use Carob powder! The first time I tried carob, I tried it in the form of carob nibs and I thought it was disgusting and so I didn’t even bother trying the powder for quite a few months. But I was seeing a lot of people using carob as a chocolate replacement and really loving it and so I opted for the powder and have not gone a day without ensuring this stuff is in my cupboard. Carob is great for it’s fibre content, antioxidant properties, it’s low amounts of fat and sugar, it’s zero caffeineΒ and gluten levels. It’s also migraine triggering free, as people say, it has twice the amount of calcium as cocoa does, and it’s naturally sweet so it can cure those sugar cravings! The only way I’ve tried using carob powder is in this smoothie and a plain Choc Banana Smoothie which can be made the same as this smoothie but adding an extra frozen banana and omitting the frozen berries. This smoothie is full of great nutrients as you’re getting your carbs from the banana and berries, healthy fats (omega-3), protein and fibre from the chia seeds and flaxseeds as well as antioxidants and vital vitamins and minerals from the spinach (if you choose to use it).

With spinach:

image1

Β  Without spinach:

image2

Choc Banana Berry Smoothie

Ingredients

1 – 1.5 frozen bananas

1 cup of frozen berries

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp flaxseeds

1 heaped tbsp carob powder

A large handful of spinach

Half- 1 cup of almond or coconut milk (unsweetened), depending on your consistency preference.

Method

Blend all ingredients together, ensuring the spinach is closest to the blade and serve with your favourite toppings. I love cacao nibs, coconut flakes, organic granola, hemp seeds and fresh berries.

Leave a Reply

