Recipes

Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes ~free from gluten, oil and banana~

img_4375
I have tried multiple different pancake recipes, in search for one that I found to be 100% guilt free, satiating (without having to eat the whole batch), fluffy, gluten free and oil free! However, shamefully, I’ve never tried any of the pancakes I’ve actually made before because I always fed them to my boyfriend so he could be my guinea pig and give me feed back. I’m someone who is a creature of habit and I get stuck into eating the same dish if I’m loving it (I’ll get more into this in my next blog post) and so I never really want to stray from eating a different breakfast just to trial a recipe, that may not even be good! But I searched and searched for a pancake recipe that I would happily ditch my usual breakfast for, and I produced these Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes with the help of a lot of inspiration. Why no banana you ask? Well this week I tried to reduce the amount of banana I was eating as I wasn’t enjoying the big spike in my blood sugar levels that it would give me, I wanted to see if my digestion and bloating improve and lastly, my boyfriend hates banana (!?!?!?) so there was no way I could sneak it into this recipe.

If you’ve ever tried an Anzac Biscuit, these have a taste similar to those, which I loved! I’m so tempted to call them Anzac Oatcakes but I feel like its funnier for people to make them and then make the connection after ward. These aren’t overly sweet so you can adjust the sweetener according to your preference but I found that it was perfect as it allows you to sweeten it up with fruit and extra maple syrup when serving. My partner drowned and always drowns his pancakes in maple syrup whereas I served mine with banana, strawberries and a 2 ingredient carob sauce.

img_4378
The consistency of these varies depending on how long you cook them for and how much you scoop out. I tried to go for about 1/3 of a cup of mixture and then spread them out on a pan into a circle about the size of a palm. Some turned out a bit more moist on the inside and others were super fluffy! What I find to help evenly cook them is to pop a lid over the top of the pan to help them to rise and cook through, which is what I did for the last few batches. I recommend cooking them for about 4-5 minutes on either side, on a medium-low heat so they don’t burn and testing the first pancakes to see if the consistency is to your liking. To be honest, I love when pancakes have a bit of a bite to them, just how I like my banana bread, so the squishier ones didn’t bother me at all.

img_4363

This recipe serves 4-6 people but it really depends on how many you can eat. They’re super filling and so my boyfriend and I were only able to eat 2 and a bit the first day and when I ate them the next day, after training legs, I ate 3! They’re perfect the next day, warmed up and are completely freezable! Halve for a smaller serve or even double to make some batches to keep!

img_4397
image2

Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes

Makes 12 pancakes.

Ingredients: 

2.5 cups of oatmeal flour
(you can grind regular oats in a blender to make this)

1 cup of non dairy milk to begin with, such as almond, coconut or soy
(add more liquid after blending if it is looking too thick, I added around another half cup)

1 cup of applesauce
(I cooked 2 chopped apples in a half cup of water and blended them to make my own applesauce)

4 tbsp maple syrup

2 tsp vanilla bean paste

4 tsp of lemon juice

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp baking soda

Method:

Use either a high powered blender or food processor to blend the mixture. Make sure when blending that you put all of the wet ingredients in first so they are closest to the blade which makes it much easier to blend the mixture together. Put the lemon juice, baking soda and baking powder in last and watch the cool chemical reaction! Its so fun to watch the lemon juice begin to bubble and sizzle up; this is what helps the pancakes rise!

Heat a non stick pan to medium-high heat, but if you aren’t worried about oil then use coconut oil to cook your pancakes on whatever pan you have.

Before cooking the pancakes, turn the heat down to medium-low. As I said before I used a 1/3 cup to make 12 evenly sized pancakes, cooking them for about 4-5 minutes on each side. Use a lid to help them cook throughout and to help the rise even more (this isn’t totally necessary).

Serve you pancakes and top them with your favourite toppings! I love fresh fruit as well as cacao nibs and coconut flakes. I also used a homemade Carob Sauce.

Carob Sauce

Serves 1-2.

Ingredients:

1 heaped tbsp of carob powder

3-4 tbsp of almond milk.

Method:

Combine the carob powder with 2 tbsp of almond milk.

Heat in the microwave for 20-30 seconds.

Add in the remaining 1-2 tbsp of almond milk (it depends how thick you like your sauce) and serve.

Enjoy! Jess xx

Leave a Reply

