Recipes

Banana Oat Bars

I don’t know about you, but I love snacks. I hate going through my day without having at least a late afternoon snack because I find that if I skip snacking then I’m ravenous for dinner, resulting in me over stuffing myself or snacking after dinner, which I’m not a fan of. Whenever I snack after dinner, I find that I’m quite bloated and uncomfortable in the morning because I don’t sleep as well and I haven’t allowed my body the time and rest it needs to digest my food. So, I’m all about snacks and remaining energised and satiated throughout the day.

image3-4

My go to snacks are usually fruits and veges and I’m notorious for my afternoon apple with cinnamon with nut butter. However, I’ve been trying to broaden snack horizons. I’ve been eating a lot more yoghurt such as the Nudie and Cocobella Natural Coconut Yoghurt and the Kindland Soy Yoghurt, but I’ve only liked the Mango and Peach flavour so far. I’ve been warming a pear or an apple up in the microwave in a bit of water with cinnamon for about 2-3 minutes and adding a dollop of yoghurt with buckinis and cacao nibs and that has been a perfect snack for these colder days!

image4

My go to snacks are usually fruits and veges and I’m notorious for my afternoon apple with cinnamon with nut butter. However, I’ve been trying to broaden snack horizons. I’ve been eating a lot more yoghurt such as the Nudie and Cocobella Natural Coconut Yoghurt and the Kindland Soy Yoghurt, but I’ve only liked the Mango and Peach flavour so far. I’ve been warming a pear or an apple up in the microwave in a bit of water with cinnamon for about 2-3 minutes and adding a dollop of yoghurt with buckinis and cacao nibs and that has been a perfect snack for these colder days!

image2-5
I used to eat pre-packaged bars and slices all of the time as my school snacks but since sticking to whole foods, plant based diet, I’ve ditched a lot of packaged and processed foods mainly because the ingredients in them aren’t the best for you and even if they are good, they’re easily made at home! Which is what I attempted to do. And I spontaneously came up with this recipe based off of the ingredients that I had at home! The recipe for this is totally interchangeable. You can add ingredients and replace ingredients with whatever you fancy depending on your taste preferences or what you have on hand. Some good add ins or substitutions would be cacao nibs, blueberries, nuts and seeds (walnuts, almonds, chia seeds, pumpkin seeds), cacao powder, diced apple and many more! Go crazy and get creative! I also added a really simple Peanut Choc Sauce that I drizzled on top but this can be omitted if you wish.

image5

Banana Berry Oat Slice 

Ingredients

2.5 medium mashed banana (You need about 1 cup when mashed)

2 cups of oats

2 tbsp goji berries

1/4 cup coconut flakes

Half to 1 tsp cinnamon

Peanut Chocolate Sauce

1/2 tbsp cacao powder

1/2 tsp carob powder (you can replace this with cacao powder if you like the rich/bitter flavour)

1 tbsp peanut butter (I use organic peanut butter which only consists of peanuts)

1.5 tbsp soy milk (add more if needed)

Method:

Mash the banana with a fork and then add in the oats, cinnamon, goji berries and coconut flakes and stir well.

If you want a thick slice, add in the whole mixture into a lined or greased square tin but if you want them thinner and to be more lile cookies (which I did for my first batch) use half of a bread loaf tin as well, adding about 3/4 into the square tin and the rest into the other. I do suggest using one square tin.

Bake in the oven for about 25 minutes. If using the chocolate sauce, put this on now and put it back in the oven for another 10 to 15 minutes.

Leave to cool before slicing and devouring. As you can see I wrapped them up in some baking paper to make them look cute but also so my parents could easily take them to work!

image1-4

Enjoy!

Jess xx

Leave a Reply

