Recipes

Sweet Potato Brownies

I’m just going to firstly put this out there: the idea of this recipe was notΒ sparked in my head. I know that Deliciously Ella has a recipe on her blog which I tried out years ago, but a girl on youtube who goes by the name of whyoweyou showed these in a video with a brief outline of the recipe so I thought I would make a recipe that had more specific measurements and ingredients.

image1-3

These are 100% full of whole food ingredients that are fantastic for your body and we all know that treats are fantastic for our mind as well. I am someone who struggles to treat myself because I’m honestly not a fan of processed foods and so when I do go to treat myself, it most likely consists of fruit, nut butter and organic chocolate (Loving Earth is my favourite!!!) as I’m getting my sugar, carbs and fats and feel satisfied at the end. Usually when I eat processed food it triggers the animal part in my brain that just wants more and more and more and bada bing bada boom, I’ve given those companies exactly what they want. Because these brownies are so nutrient dense and full of real food that one would put in their actual meals, one serving feels like plenty!

DISCLAIMER! IF YOU WANT THESE BROWNIES TO TASTE LIKE REAL BROWNIES THEN DON’T MAKE THEM BECAUSE YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. THEY TASTE FREAKING DELICIOUS AND ARE SO MOIST AND SQUISHY BUT THEY ARE MUCH MORE RICH/RAW IN FLAVOUR SO DON’T EXPECT THEM TO BE EXACTLY LIKE BROWNIES.

image3-2Sweet Potato Brownies

Ingredients:

1 extra large sweet potato (about 2 medium)

1/2 cup cacao powder

2 tbsp tahini

1 tbsp maple syrup

1.5 tbsp rice malt syrup

1/4 cup oats

Method:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius

Steam or bake your sweet potato with the skin off.

Once this has cooked all the way through and has become super soft, mash it with a fork or a potato masher. This could also be done in a food processor but I was worried the mixture would become too runny. I really liked the texture of mine so I suggest mashing.

Add in all the rest of your ingredients and stir thoroughly. Make sure you taste the mixture! If you think it needs more sweetness, add more syrup, if it needs more chocolate, add more cacao! Just wing it πŸ˜›

Place the mixture into a baking tin of your choice. How thick you want these to be will determine which sized tin you use. I used rectangular 2 bread loaf tins but I only filled the second tin about 3/4 of the way because I wanted them to be the same size and didn’t have enough mixture for the whole tin. You can use a square baking tin as well! Just see which one you would like to use. Out of the two tins that I used, I made 10 brownies.

Bake for about 40-50 minutes. I put my oven on fan oven for the last 10 minutes so the top would crisp up a tad more but this is totally optional.

Serve warm, on it’s own, or with some vegan ice cream, coconut yoghurt and/or fruit! You can have these for breakfast (I would have about 2 pieces)

image2-2

Enjoy!

Jess xx

Leave a Reply

